Jörg Widmann and the Pacifica Quartet at the Library of Congress

Jörg Widmann (Photo by Marco Borggreve)

Pacifica Quartet
Jörg Widmann, Clarinet

Haydn, String Quartet in G, Op. 76, No. 1
Jörg Widmann, Jagdquartett [String Quartet No. 3]
Carl Maria von Weber, Clarinet Quintet in B-flat, Op. 34

Jörg Widmann is a busy man. One of Germany’s leading classical composers, he also maintains a full slate of international engagements as a solo clarinetist. Both sides of Widmann’s musicianship were on display Monday night in an inspired concert with the Pacifica Quartet at the Library of Congress.

As a composer, Widmann engages in an intense but often playful dialogue with the Western musical tradition, and his “Jagdquartett” (“Hunt Quartet”) from 2003 is no exception. The work, given a manic and bristling performance by the Pacifica Quartet, is a deconstruction of the stylized hunting music of the classical period…

Read the full review here (Washington Post, January 24, 2017).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s